Episode 22 (6/19/11)

All right, so podcast for this week’s episode is up!

I started this week’s set off with a really weird instrumental version of Mariah Carey’s “Fantasy”. No vocals or anything except for the parts where the chorus comes in, which is sorta weird for an instrumental track. But I chose this tune specifically because Matt P (one of the DJs that spun at STEAM) closed his set with this track, and it just made me remember how great of a song this is, especially for the summer.

I felt pretty confident overall, throughout this Sunday’s set. I don’t know what came over me exactly but I somehow sorta shoved away all of the strange and neurotic tendencies I have before stepping up to the mixer and decks, and JUST SPUN. Admittedly, hearing Scratcha’s Machindrum ep of Grimey Breakfast has really changed my perception on how to run this radio show.

If you notice throughout, I was trying communicate with listeners rather than talking to the mic.

Favorite tune of the show: tie between DJ Zinc/Benga’s tune and the Afrika Hi-Tech tune “Footsteps”. The latter track is really bubbly and glitchy, with a really kinetic tempo. It was a really last-minute selection choice, but I’m glad I played it because it’s fucking sick.

Download is below with the tracklist!

Download: 128kbps

Mariah Carey – Fantasy
Neat & Submerse – Close (Jack Dixon Remix)
Roska – Abrupt
DJ Gregory & Sidney Samson – Dama S Salon
Lone – Rapid Racer
Double 99 – RIPGroove
MJ Cole & 2 As 1 – Too Blind
DOK – Dragon Punch
SBTRKT – WildFire
NKC – Ghettotechno
Wookie – Down on Me
Addison Groove – It’s Got Me
Zomby – Riding With Death
Deadboy – If U Want me
Pariah – The Slump
Blawan – Getting Me Down
Kidkut – ILove04
DJ Zinc & Benga – My DJ (ft. Ms Dynamite)
Spyro – 8-10 (TRC Remix)
Teeth – Shawty
James Drake – Successful CMYK

Claude VonStroke – Big & Round
Stagga – Is This The Future?
Maxsta – East London is Back
Youngstar – Formula 2
Bok Bok – Silo Pass
Dizzee Rascal – Seems 2 Be
Plastician – Venom
Machinedrum – Fantastix
Cedaa – Simba
Afrika Hi-Tech – Footstepz
Chrissy Murderbot & DJ Spinn – Bussin Down
Non Projects – Kissin On A Rose
DJ Rashad – Luve U
Brackles – Get A Job
Deadboy – Here 4 U
Neat & Submerse – Close

This entry was posted in Playlist, Podcast and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

